//
you're reading...
Blog

Seattle SlutWalk

YOU’VE GOT ANGER, SOUL AND MORE,
TAKE TO THE STREET AND LET IT ROAR!

This year was my first SlutWalk, and I was absolutely fucking stoked. I am constantly appalled by the ignorance and blatant disregard for human dignity that I witness almost everyday, whether it is through words or through actions or through news reports. In an ideal word, I would stand up to every single oppressor out there and use my words as a teaching tool, so they will never hurt again. But the reality of the situation is that being new those who intimidate me makes me chest tighten, and the idea of a confrontation so important and daunting chills my blood. But I am trying to work past that. And SlutWalk… fuck, SlutWalk was a giant step forward for me.

NO MEANS “FUCK YOU”
YES MEANS “FUCK ME”

I marched, I chanted, I cried with beautiful humans that I had just met. I shared in moments so pure and so genuine that my heart still aches for all that we as survivors of sexual assault and abuse have lost, and all that we have are working towards. It’s hard for me to get out of bed knowing that there are abusers out there that have hurt people I know, people I love- hell, my palms get sweaty just knowing that ANYONE is capable living peacefully with themselves after committing such a disgusting, vile act. And the fact that victim shaming and blaming is ingrained into our society at an institutional level scares me to my very core. But SlutWalk helped me feel connected to both myself and others in a way that I haven’t felt in years, and helped me feel hope for the first time in a long time. No one deserves the pain, and fuck anyone that tells you otherwise.

2, 4, 6, 8
DON’T RAPE
MASTURBATE

– haley !

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Donate

Store

Visit my store on Storenvy

Twitter

